Children 13 & Older Face Arrest, Fines For Trick-Or-Treating In This Town
Is there an age limit on going trick-or-treating? In the town of Chesapeake, Virginia there definitely is, and you could face fines and arrest for being too old…
By Motherly on October 9, 2018
Is there an age limit on going trick-or-treating? In the town of Chesapeake, Virginia, there definitely is, and you could face fines and arrest for being too old…
According to CBS Philly, it’s illegal for children over the age of 12 to go trick-or-treating on Halloween. The city code states:
“If any person over the age of 12 years shall engage in the activity commonly known as ‘trick or treat’ or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever, he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.”
It’s also illegal to partake in the tradition after 8 p.m., no matter what your age. For those wondering, trick-or-treating hours are only from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Music News: Radiohead, Janet Jackson, Stevie Nicks, Todd Rundgren, Devo Top Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees
As it turns out, Chesapeake isn’t the only town in Virginia with laws like this. Other towns, such as Norfolk, have similar laws the make it illegal for older kids to trick-or-treat.
Thankfully, if you’re a parent just trying to accompany your kid on Halloween, it appears you will not be subject to this weird law. However, one city’s code says adults accompanying children on Halloween are not allowed to wear any type of mask.
Head right here to learn more. Also, let us know in the comments what you think about this. Is this a good law, or way too restrictive?