(Photo by Mario Tama/Getty Images)

CA Voters To Decide If California Should Be Split Into 3 States

Voters will decide in November whether California should be split into three states. 

It looks like voters will decide in November whether California should be split into three states.

According to KCRA 3, Cal 3 submitted more than 600 thousand signatures to be validated by the Secretary of State. to be ballot eligible, the initiative needed 365,880 validated signatures. it surpassed that easily with 419,362 valid signatures. Under the proposal, California would become three separate states: Northern California, California and Southern California.

Northern California would be made up of 40 counties: Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Calusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo and Yuba.

California would be made up of 6 Counties along the coastline: Los Angeles, Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura.

And, Southern California would be made up of the remaining 12 counties: Fresno, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego and Tulare.

Even if approved by voters, the measure would have to be approved by the U.S. Congress.

MIX 96 On The Streets

Sat 19

96 Free Things To Do In Sacramento

October 23, 2018 @ 8:00 am - December 20, 2028 @ 5:00 pm
Sat 26

Meet Us At Smart & Final!

January 26 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Smart & Final
Sacramento CA
Feb 06

Nashville In The Neighborhood #NITN19

February 6 @ 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
At The Grounds
Roseville CA

Listen Live